Our Recent Posts


League Hosts Annual Meeting

The LWVOZ held its annual meeting on May 7, 2019 at Galioto’s Twelve 21 Restaurant in Cedarburg, with forty-three League members and guests attending.

After a social time, the attendees enjoyed an Italian buffet dinner, followed by a report by Mary Fran Lepeska on the history of the women’s suffrage movement in Wisconsin. On June 10, 1919, Wisconsin was the first state to ratify the 19th amendment giving women the right to vote. This important centennial anniversary will be celebrated with different events at the state level.

Prior to the annual meeting Mary Fran Lepeska had requested that League members send her interesting facts about themselves. As she read each one aloud people tried to guess who the person was. It was a very fun activity that helped members to get to know each other better.

President Barbara Hunt called the business meeting to order and welcomed everyone, introducing the new members who were present. Following the president’s report on our important accomplishments of the past year, the proposed revisions of the bylaws were presented to the membership and all were accepted. Mary Fran Lepeska gave the treasurer’s report and presented the budget for next year, which was approved.

The slate of officers for 2019-2021 was then presented and accepted by the membership. The elected officers are President - Barbara Hunt, Vice-President - Mary Fran Lepeska, and Secretary - Jean Bromley. Elected Board directors are Allison Antoine - Communications, Louise Mollinger – Voter Services, and Vonna Pitel – Public Relations. The Nominating Committee for 2019-20 is made up of Delores Bogenrief- Chair, Ellen MacFarlane, Kate Logan and Barbara Willenson.

LWVOZ has had a very successful year and our membership has grown to 81. We look forward to the planning meeting on June 15 when we will discuss our activities for the coming year.

    ©2021 League of Women Voters of Ozaukee County   |   N57 W5243 Highland Crossing Circle   |   Cedarburg, WI  53012